Motor Sport Betting Tips

23277 Showlhs N
There is nothing like the smell of burning rubber in the mornings, as the old saying goes, well we think it goes something like that. Anyway, at we love the smell of racing in all its shapes and forms. 

Whether it is Formula 1, Supercars, Indy Car or MotoGP we have got a handle on it here and our experts will be diving into the history of driver performance at specific tracks or how manufacturers usually fare on street circuits to high-speed tracks. They have their eye on team upgrades and development and will give you their insight into which drivers and teams are expected to go well during the race weekend.

Motorsport Markets

Gone are the days of just being able to pick a winner or a podium, now all of the best bookmakers have close to 50+ markets open for each race weekend. You can now have a punt on who will go fastest in Free Practice 1 or even tip who is going to crash out first in a race and of course everything in between. 

Below are a few of the most popular motorsport markets which can be found in most racing categories.

Race Winner

There can only be one winner in a race so picking the first car or bike to see the checkered flag first is the most straightforward bet you can make, however it may not be the easiest.

Pole Position

Pole Position is awarded to the vehicle that qualifies first for the race. Depending on which form of motorsport you are having a punt on, may cause a variant on how the pole sitter is determined. A driver may have a whole session to put out the fastest lap or perhaps they are required to post 1 hot-lap that will determine whether or not they are the pole sitter.

Race Podium

If picking the race winner is too unpredictable or even too predictable giving low odds, you can have a punt on a driver or rider to make the top-3, thus standing on the podium at the conclusion of the race.

Top 6 Finish

More often than not in most series of motorsport you can bet on a rider or driver to finish in the top 6 at the conclusion of the race.
With most teams having at least 2 drivers you can also place bets on if 0,1 or both drivers will finish in the top 6 in the race.

Points Finish

All forms of motorsport award drivers and manufacturers points to determine the champion at the end of the year. You can bet if a driver or manufacturer will finish in the points at the conclusion of the race.

Motorsport Future Betting

Future betting is of course a common practice when betting on motorsport. At any time throughout the season you can bet on which driver or manufacturer will win the championship. You can also bet on which teammate within the same manufacturer will finish higher in some of the more popular series.

Motorsport Live Streaming

Depending on the series, you may need to hunt around for which TV service has the rights to race you do want to watch.

For Australian streaming services, start with Kayo Sports, Foxtel Now and Stan Sport for a range of motorsport options. Free motorsport streaming of select races is available via 7plus.

Recent Formula 1 Champions

  • 2003 Michael Schumacher (GER)
  • 2004 Michael Schumacher (GER)
  • 2005 Fernando Alonso (SPA)
  • 2006 Fernando Alonso (SPA)
  • 2007 Kimi Räikkönen (FIN)
  • 2008 Lewis Hamilton GBR)
  • 2009 Jenson Button GBR)
  • 2010 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
  • 2011 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
  • 2012 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
  • 2013 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
  • 2014 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
  • 2015 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
  • 2016 Nico Rosberg (GER)
  • 2017 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
  • 2018 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
  • 2019 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
  • 2020 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
  • 2021 Max Verstappen (NED)
  • 2022 Max Verstappen (NED)

Recent Australian Supercar Champions

  • 2022 Shane van Gisbergen
  • 2021 Shane van Gisbergen
  • 2020 Scott McLaughlin
  • 2019 Scott McLaughlin
  • 2018 Scott McLaughlin
  • 2017 Jamie Whincup
  • 2016 Shane van Gisbergen
  • 2015 Mark Winterbottom
  • 2014 Jamie Whincup
  • 2013 Jamie Whincup
  • 2012 Jamie Whincup 
  • 2011 Jamie Whincup
  • 2010 James Courtney
  • 2009 Jamie Whincup
  • 2008 Jamie Whincup
  • 2007 Garth Tander
  • 2006 Rick Kelly
  • 2005 Russell Ingall
  • 2004 Marcos Ambrose  
  • 2003 Marcos Ambrose