Ice Hockey Betting Tips

23280 Showlhs N

NHL Betting Tips

The NHL season offers a fast-paced and thrilling schedule, with each team competing in 82 games, totalling 1,271 regular-season matches. At AussieBets, we provide expert NHL betting analysis and advice for every single game day throughout the season. Our ice hockey experts provide you with their best picks for the day varying from Money Line bets, Goal Totals and even player props. They crunch the numbers and you reap the benefits.

NHL Markets

Hockey is just like all of the big-time American sports that has countless markets to choose from. You can bet head-to-head, or better your value with the NHL Puck Line. You can bet who will win each period or even pick the correct score. There are also plenty of player props to choose from with the most popular being goal scorers. 

Here is a look at some of the NHL’s most popular markets.

Money Line

NHL Money Line Betting offers the most straightforward way to wager on an NHL game. It involves betting on which team will win the match, without any option for the game to end in a tie (as overtime and shootouts are played in the NHL). 

NHL Puck Line/ Line

Betting on the point spread of NHL games. These NHL odds require a team to win or lose by a specific number of goals, creating a more even betting line between unevenly matched teams.

Total Goals Or Over/Under

Betting what commonly is referred to as the OVER or UNDER generally relates to predicting the total goals scored in the game between both teams. The bookie will set a total that varies from game to game depending on the statistical prediction of how many points both teams will score.

Correct Score

As with Soccer, picking the correct score in a match is made a little easier than other sports because of the tendency for matches to be low scoring. Although a little higher than Soccer, a common scoreline in the NHL may be 3-2 or 4-1. So if you use some statistical analysis and a little gut-feeling you can see some good returns by picking the score.

Goal Scorer In Match

Just as it sounds, if you can pick a player to score a goal in the match you can generally get over 2 x your money.

NHL Multi Bets

The NHL can have up to and over 10 games played on the same night, so it is no wonder combining a couple of winners into a Multi Bet has become pretty common practice for regular NHL punters. With so many games played in the year, throwing in a roughie is never a bad idea to boost your odds as every night always throws a couple of surprises at you.


The Stanley Cup is one of the most recognizable trophies in American sport, with every player’s name etched into the iconic base of the cup. Although picking the Lord Stanley winner before the season’s start won’t get your name engraved in history, it is still pretty epic. The NHL has plenty of individual future bets that can be laid down at the start of the season like highest point scorer, highest goal scorer and best defenceman and goalkeeper.

Future markets in NHL include:

Stanley Cup Winner

Award to the team that wins the best-of-seven Stanley Cup final after surviving the tolling NHL Playoffs.

The Presidents’ Trophy

An annual award given to the team that finishes the regular season with the best overall record. 

The Conn Smyth Trophy

The Conn Smythe Trophy is an annual award given "to the most valuable player for his team in the playoffs." The winner is selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association at the conclusion of the last game in the Stanley Cup Final.

The Hart Memorial Trophy

The Hart Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season.

The Calder Memorial Trophy

An annual award given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the NHL, selected in a PHWA poll.

The Art Ross Trophy

The Art Ross Trophy is an annual award given to the player who leads the National Hockey League in scoring points at the end of the regular season.

The Vezina Trophy

The Vezina Trophy is an annual award given to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at this position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs.

NHL Live Streaming

The home of NHL streaming in Australia is Kayo Sports and Foxtel Now. Here are the different prices to pay for Kayo Sports and Foxtel Now in Australia

NHL History

The National Hockey League (NHL) has a rich and storied history that dates back to November 26, 1917, when it was founded in Montreal, Canada. Initially comprised of four teams, the league expanded over the years and has since grown to include 32 teams, with franchises spread across the United States and Canada. 

The NHL has witnessed numerous iconic moments, legendary players, and memorable rivalries throughout its history. From the Original Six era featuring powerhouse teams like the Montreal Canadiens, Toronto Maple Leafs, and Boston Bruins, to the expansion era that brought in new teams from non-traditional hockey markets, the league has experienced constant growth and evolution. 

The Stanley Cup, the oldest trophy in North American sports, has been awarded to the NHL champion since 1927.

Recent NHL Stanley Cup Winners

  • 2023: Vegas Golden Knights
  • 2022: Colorado Avalanche
  • 2021: Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2020: Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2019: St. Louis Blues
  • 2018: Washington Capitals
  • 2017: Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2016: Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2015: Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2014: Los Angeles Kings
  • 2013: Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2012: Los Angeles Kings
  • 2011: Boston Bruins,
  • 2010: Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2009: Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2008: Detroit Red Wings,
  • 2007: Anaheim Ducks
  • 2006: Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2004: Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2003: New Jersey Devils

Recent Hart Memorial Trophy Winners (MVP)

  • 2023: Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
  • 2022: Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 2021: Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
  • 2020: Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers
  • 2019: Nikita Kucherov, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2018: Taylor Hall, New Jersey Devils
  • 2017: Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
  • 2016: Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2015: Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens
  • 2014: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2013: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2012: Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2011: Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks
  • 2010: Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2009: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2008: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2007: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2006: Joe Thornton, Boston Bruins/San Jose Sharks
  • 2004: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2003: Peter Forsberg, Colorado Avalanche